Fit, Fab Ageless Living

Gaining muscle strength, contour and definition keeps the body strong as we age.

Gaining muscle strength, contour and definition keeps the body strong as we age.

January 17 2014

–By Coralie Raia Darsey-Malloy

If exercise could be put in a pill it would be the number one anti-aging medicine and the number one anti-depression medicine.— Dr. Robert N. Butler

I decided to create a blog about ageless living as I prepare to move into the 70th decade of my life. There is growing interest in life extension, aging and disease. People are living longer and many in the baby boomer generation are refusing to give into unhealthy, disabled aging. David and I are so passionate in our belief that it is possible to feel fit and fab as we age. Consequently we created another blog with that focus. prompted us to create a Fit, Fab and Ageless Blog and the link is http://feelingfitfabandageless.blogspot.ca/

This image is from the Fit, Fab and Ageless blog on Blogspot http://feelingfitfabandageless.blogspot.ca/

This image is from the Fit, Fab and Ageless blog on Blogspot http://feelingfitfabandageless.blogspot.ca/

Even though we are at an age when many of our peers are retiring we love what we do and feel a commitment to presenting diverse views and opinions about living strong and living the best possible life as we age.  My hubs David and I promote the idea that it is never too early or too late to create a “fresh beginning.”  It is more about the quality of life than the length of it that matters to us. We created and co-direct a person al development company called  Fresh Beginning Being happily married to my life and business partner  write, produce and present dynamic living seminars,  public speaking and offer life coaching services on and off line.. Our  website provides information about our focus and services the link is http://www.fresh-beginnings.com

During my late teens and early twenties I did some modeling and worked in the fashion industry. With what I perceived then as my “vertically challenged” (5’ 2″ height I resorted to starving my body down to under 80 pounds to compensateConsequently, I developed the eating disorders anorexia nervosa and bulimia at the age of 17 and struggled with the self-destructive elements within these compulsive coping patterns for 30 years. The fixation on “being skinny” led to distortions in self-perception that took me years to overcome.

After years of therapy and soul searching, I recovered memories of childhood sexual abuse. After going through therapy and adopting a whole person approach to healing my life, I eventually understood that on a subconscious level I abused my body to outwork what I thought I “deserved. At age 31, I started working as a fitness leader and that that was when I started working out and it took me down a different path.

My birthday is New Year’s Eve and I reached my 70th decade in 2013. At this age and stage of life I made a firm commitment to becoming fit and feeling fab. A year later  I am in the best shape of my life and have no intention of retiring.  When clients hear about my journey from victimhood and a host of personal and professional setbacks they encouragewd me to write a book about how I transformed my scars into stars. After some self-doubt I decided to  share what I learned along my path. My bood is titled I’ve Been There…A Testimony of Hope and the website is www.ibtbook.com

II had some knee and hip problems in 2011 and 2012 and put on 40 pounds. After trimming down my body it is time to build muscle, contour and strengthen. Now it is a pleasure to see how my body is transforming through progressive strength and resistance training. With my weight arond 100 pounds I am confidently open to replacing the old flab with fit, lean, muscle tone.

When I work out I feel fit, fab and ageless and it keeps me going. The rewards of being an exercising person pay immeasurable  dividends. I have a l goal is to continue making  fitness as a way of life into advanced years. Feeling fit and fab as I, age is empowering and rewarding.

 

 

Studies show that it is possible to increase strenth, flexibility and sustain good health as we age. Why not begin right here...right now?

Studies show that it is possible to increase strenth, flexibility and sustain good health as we age. Why not begin right here…right now?

Leave a Reply

