No regrets…as it is never too early or too late to do the things you wish you had.

It does not matter what was in the past...what matters in living in the Now and becoming more of who we truly are.

It does not matter what was in the past…what matters in living in the Now and becoming more of who we truly are.

528546_393115160709656_295143850506788_1310608_487035061_n (1)

It is never too late to be great or fly high and free with our own wings.

It is never too late to be great or fly high and free with our own wings.

By Coralie Raia Darsey-Malloy

I do not have the name of the person who originated some of the ideas in this blog as it was sent out in a mass email forward. When I read it I decided to modify it to the present tense and make it about living in the now rather than living with regret about what we wish we’d done.

My hubs David and I named our personal development company Fresh Beginnings because we know for sure it is never too early or too..t be great and live a happier more fulfilling life. It is all in the choices we make and our attitude and approach to life at any age and stage. So instead of lamenting the past we suggest living in the “now” of our daily experiences and embrace every bit of good we have. For the down or daunting times we believe there are no failures when we learn life lessons. For anything that is a regret from the past we choose to move on and make the past wishes part of the present.

These are some ideas that we did not do in the past but we add them to our bucket/anticipation list and are making the passions happen. That way when our time to leave this plane comes we will not look back with regret but inwardly smile and say…I lived well, laughed in the sun, cried in the rain and embraced each bright new dawning.

Rather than regretting I did not climb more mountains, walk in the woods and swim in natural settings…I make more time to do it and life is good.

Rather than denying the enjoyment of  ice cream and sweet treats I eat them in moderation.

I worry less and therefore I have the energy needed to work through my troubles because I have less imaginary ones.

Rather than splitting off and not paying attention I live with mindfulness and appreciation rather than projecting into the future or worry about the past.

Rather than being a person who never goes anywhere without a thermometer, a hot water bottle, a raincoat and a parachute I now would travel lighter and trust the process.

Rather than worrying about appearance I now choose to walk without shoes more often and feel the grounding power of the earth beneath my feel.

I used to worry about appearing silly or childish…now I dance in wild abandon as if no one is watching…even when they are.

With the revision in my thinking I hold to the belief that we are only young once but we can remain kids at heart forever by making angels in the snow, going on  merry-go-rounds, being pushed on a swing and dressing to express myself without the dictates of the fashion police.

By living in the moment I am focused enough to stop and smell the spring flowers, savour each mouthful of food, remove limiting beliefs about the “should” and follow the whims of my spirit regularly.

Today is a perfectly good day this is for starting over,  living fully and completely, wringing every drop of enjoyment in where I am  from it before jumping headlong into the next.

Rather than cluttering my mind with an overly busy agenda I choose to slow down,. simplify my life and live within my means.

In choosing to live without regret I no longer take myself or others so seriously.

I make time to take care of myself and my body so I will remain healthy and strong as I age. With less regret and distraction I make “me time and self-health a priority without guilt.

I would remind myself more often that happiness is our spiritual birthright and worry about the future or regretting the past eclipses our joy in the “now” of our experience.

Even the Divines cannot change the past so there is no point in living back there. Nor is there any point in regretting what might have been. More often than not we do not have control over what happens to us…but we always have a choice about how to respond and what to do about it. Assessing regrets or perceptions of being able to live life over. One the clarity is there it can provide a new blueprint for the rest of life and how to begin moving towards what wasn’t done before by doing some of it right here, right now…or in the not too distant future.

As is frequently said; “Better late…than never.”

Leave a Reply

